Turku Bioscience Post-Doc & PhD Candidate Board Seminar: Professor Stefan Hell

    April 22nd at 11:00 – 11:45
    Virtual event

    Professor Stefan Hell, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

    Professor Stefan Hell is a Nobel Laureate and an alumnus of the University of Turku. Professor Stefan Hell will talk about his scientific journey and also interact with attendees.

    The seminar is for forty-five minutes. It will be divided into two parts, the first thirty minutes, there will be a presentation by Prof. Stefan Hell, and the last fifteen minutes are assigned for discussion.

    Only a limited number of participants are allowed for the last fifteen minutes part so register quickly!

    Please register via this link: https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/DBCD168098D78331
    Registration link to the online event will be open until 21st April 17:00

    Seminar is organized by Turku Bioscience Postdoc & Doctoral candidate board
    For more information kindly contact Dr. Meraj Khan ( mehakh@utu.fi )


    Professor Stefan Hell is a director at both the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen and the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg, Germany.

    Stefan Hell received his doctorate (1990) in physics from the University of Heidelberg. From 1991 to 1993 he worked at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, followed by stays as a researcher at the University of Turku between 1993 and 1996. In 1997 he was appointed to the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen as a group leader, and was promoted to director in 2002. From 2003 to 2017 he also led a research group at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ). Hell holds honorary professorships in physics at the Universities of Heidelberg and Göttingen.

    He is credited with having conceived, validated and applied the first viable concept for overcoming Abbe’s diffraction-limited resolution barrier in a light-focusing fluorescence microscope. For this accomplishment he has received numerous awards, including the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.