Lab Members

    Group Leader

    Johanna Ivaska
    Academy of Finland Professor
    johanna.ivaska [at]

    Contact Information

    Turku Centre for Biotechnology
    Box 123, BioCity
    (Street adr. Tykistökatu 6 B)
    FIN-20521 Turku, Finland

    Brief Background

    PhD in collagen-binding integrins (Turku, Finland); Postdoc at CR-UK, LIR with Prof. Peter J. Parker; Lab established in 2003 (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland); Now Academy Professor and Professor of Molecular Cell Biology at University of Turku Centre for Biotechnology.
    For an interview with Johanna visit the Journal of Cell Biology: People and ideas.

    Technical Staff

    Petra Laasola

    Laboratory Technician

    Ivaska Lab +358 (0)29 450 3758 petra.laasola [at]

    Current Role

    Day-to-day laboratory organisation and assisting in several research projects

    Research skills

    Molecular biology, immunoprecipitation, PLA, IHC & IF and FACS analysis

    Jenni Siivonen

    Laboratory Technician

    Ivaska Lab +358 (0)29 450 3758 jenni.siivonen [at]

    Current role

    Day-to-day laboratory organisation and assisting in several research projects

    Research skills

    Cell culture, DNA & RNA purification, Western blotting, IF, recombinant protein production, qRT-PCR

    Doctoral Candidates

    Aleksi Isomursu

    Doctoral Candidate

    Ivaska Lab +358 (0)29 450 3789 aleksi.isomursu [at]

    Project title

    Mechanotransduction mechanisms in cancer

    Research interests

    Cancer, actin cytoskeleton, cell migration, ECM, mechanotransduction

    Niklas Jäntti

    Doctoral Candidate

    Ivaska Lab niklas.z.jantti [at]

    Omkar Joshi

    Doctoral Candidate

    Ivaska Lab omkar.joshi [at]

    Jasmin Kaivola

    Doctoral Candidate

    Ivaska Lab jasmin.e.kaivola [at]

    Huayi Li

    Doctoral Researcher

    Ivaska Lab [at]

    Nicolas Pasquier

    Doctoral Candidate

    Ivaska lab, office 4121 nicolas.pasquier [at]

    Postdoctoral Researchers

    Megan Chastney

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Ivaska Lab megan.chastney [at]

    James Conway

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Ivaska Lab james.conway [at]

    Project title

    Regulation of integrin phosphorylation

    Research interests

    FRET biosensors and 3D models

    Michal Dibus

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Ivaska Lab michal.dibus [at]

    Gautier Follain

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Ivaska & Jacquemet Labs gautier.follain [at]

    Michalis Gounis

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Hellyeh Hamidi

    Research Coordinator

    Ivaska Lab +358 (0)29 450 3787 hellyeh.hamidi [at]

    Research interests

    Integrin activity, cell adhesion, cancer, cell migration

    Paulina Moreno Layseca

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Ivaska Lab paulina.morenolayseca [at]

    Project title

    LIMA1 in Rab21-mediated integrin trafficking

    Research interests

    Rab21, integrins, endosomes, LIMA1, cancer

    Veli-Matti Leppänen

    Research Fellow

    Ivaska Lab veli-matti.leppanen [at]

    Mathilde Mathieu

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Ivaska Lab mathilde.mathieu [at]

    Meri Pelkonen

    Project Researcher

    Undergraduate Students

    Elia Heinonen


    Ivaska Lab elia.j.heinonen [at]

    Sofia Held


    Ivaska Lab sofia.held [at]

    Trinh Pham

    Undergraduate Student

    Ivaska Lab

    Eva Savulkina

    Loane Simon

    Master Student

    Ivaska Lab loane.simon [at]


    Doctoral Candidates

    • Aki Stubb (thesis defended 2019)
    • Pranshu Sahgal (thesis defended 2018)
    • Jonna Alanko (thesis defended 2016)
    • Riina Kaukonen (thesis defended 2016)
    • Nicola De Franceschi (thesis defended 2016)
    • Reetta Virtakoivu (thesis defended 2015)
    • Gunilla Högnäs (thesis defended 2013)
    • Juha Rantala (thesis defended 2011)
    • Jonna Nevo (thesis defended 2011)
    • Karolina Vuoriluoto (thesis defended 2010)
    • Saara Tuomi (thesis defended 2010)
    • Teijo Pellinen (thesis defended 2009)
    • Elina Mattila (thesis defended 2009)


    • Jaroslav Icha – 2019, next step: Application specialist for Promega cell-based assays and all luminescence products, Czech Republic
    • Maria Georgiadou – August 2018, next step: Senior Researcher at Orion Pharma, Finland
    • Mika Pietilä – until 2017, Next step: Astra Zeneca, Espoo, Finland
    • ​Anja Mai – until 2016, Next step: Researcher at BerGenBio, Bergen, Norway
    • Antti Arjonen – until 2015. Next step: Senior researcher at Misvik Biology Ltd, Turku, Finland
    • Ghaffar Muharram – until 2013. Next step: Scientist at University of Lille, Lille, France
    • Jeroen Pouwels – until 2013, Next step: group leader at Turku Centre for Biotechnology, Turku, Finland
    • Stefan Veltel, Next step: lecturer at University of Applied Sciences, Bremen, Germany
    • Emilia Peuhu – until 2019, next step: Group leader at Institute of Biomedicine, University of Turku
    • Guillaume Jacquemet – until 2019, next step: Group leader at Åbo Akademi, Faculty of Science and Engineering
    • Elisa Närvä -until 2021, Next step: group leader at Institute of Biomedicine, Turku, Finland