Johanna Ivaska chosen as EMBO Council Member from 2023

    Five new members of EMBO Council, a new chair and vice-chair were appointed at the EMBO Council meeting in Heidelberg on 24 and 25 May 2022.

    EMBO Council is the governing body of EMBO. According to the EMBO Statutes and Rules, it consists of nine members who are elected by the EMBO Members and Associate Members, and six members who are co-opted by Council. The 15 members serve for a period of three years and may be re-elected for one additional term. Each year, five Council members are replaced: three by direct election and two by co-option. The chair and vice-chair are elected for one year.

    This year, the three candidates who received the highest number of members’ votes were Ivan Dikic, Crisanto Gutiérrez, and Maria Rescigno. Gutiérrez and Rescigno are re-elected for a second term, while Dikic will join Council in 2023. The two co-opted members are Silvia Arber and Johanna Ivaska.

    Together with the current members, they will be responsible for managing and developing EMBO

    Read more about EMBO Council and all current members.